Middle School Schedule: Work Group

WARNING: You are viewing an archival page. The information it contains may be out of date.

Please visit our current site at www.4j.lane.edu

To support student learning in our middle schools and increase operational efficiency, Eugene School District 4J is working to align schedules at all middle schools. (Why Align Schedules?)

The district established a work group composed of teachers and administrators from across the district. The work group's task was to consider what schedule, within certain parameters, would provide the optimal learning environment for all middle school students while eliminating inequities for students and teachers and addressing the district's operational and fiscal constraints. The work group made a schedule recommendation to the superintendent in January 2013. (Decision-Making Process)


Work Group Meeting Summaries

The work group met for five half-day meetings between mid-November and early January, and completed its work on January 9, 2013.

Meeting Summary: Nov. 13, 2012
Main Points From 11/13/12 Meeting

Meeting Summary: Nov. 26, 2012
Main Points From 11/26/12 Meeting 

Meeting Summary: Dec. 3, 2012
Main Points From 12/03/12 Meeting 

Meeting Summary: Dec. 13, 2012
Main Points From 12/13/12 Meeting 

Meeting Summary: Jan. 9, 2013
Main Points From 01/09/13 Meeting 


Work Group Roster

David Barnes, Teacher (Language Arts), Kennedy MS
BJ Blake, Principal, Spencer Butte MS
Cecelia Brands, Teacher (Math), Monroe MS
Amy Brooks, Teacher (Special Education), Madison MS
Joane Butler, ESS Administrator, District Office
Merri Sue Clark, Teacher (Social Studies), Spencer Butte MS
Jose da Silva, Principal, Kelley MS
Tom di Liberto, Teacher (Language Arts), Monroe MS
M.E. Dunlap, Teacher (Science), Academy of Arts & Technology
Rick Gaultney, Principal, Monroe MS
Chad Heidtke, Teacher (Science), Roosevelt MS
Margot Helphand, Facilitator
Jeff Johnson, Principal, Academy of Arts & Technology
Cheryl Linder, Director of Education Support Services, District Office
Scott Marsh, Principal, Madison MS
Chris Mitchell, Principal, Roosevelt MS
Martha Montgomery, Teacher (Social Studies), Kelly MS
Laurie Moses, Director of Secondary Education, District Office
Laura Queirolo, Teacher (Language Arts), Spencer Butte MS
Elle Sabala, Teacher (Spanish), Kelly MS
Charlie Smith, Principal, Kennedy MS
Donna Somerville, College & Career Readiness Administrator, District Office
Yvonne Twedt, Teacher (Math), Kennedy MS
Cydney Vandercar, Principal, Cal Young MS
Eric Wade, Teacher (Math), Cal Young MS
Marilyn Williams, Secondary Literacy Specialist, District Office
Jan Youngman, Teacher on Special Assignment for Math, District Office